Zomato SDE Interview Experience

Zomato SDE Interview Experience

Introduction

A few months ago, I decided to apply for the SDE position at Zomato, one of the leading food delivery platforms in India. I was really excited about the opportunity, as Zomato is known for its innovative technology and impressive engineering team.

To get my foot in the door, I took an unconventional approach - I directly emailed Zomato's CEO, Deepinder Goyal, expressing my interest in the role and highlighting my relevant skills and experience. To my surprise, this strategy worked, and I soon received a follow-up email from one of Zomato's team leads to schedule an interview.

The Interview Process

The interview process consisted of three rounds, each serving as an elimination round.

Round 1

The first round was with an SDE2, who grilled me on my knowledge of React, server-side rendering, and the internal workings of front-end frameworks. I also had to tackle a challenging LeetCode-style coding problem at the end of this round.

Round 2

The second round was with an Engineering Manager, and the focus shifted more towards hands-on coding. He asked me probing questions about React, such as the diffing algorithm, the reconciliation process, and the rules around custom hooks. I also had to implement basic versions of useState and useEffect, and explain concepts like closures, the differences between let and var, and the advantages of using Tailwind CSS over CSS-in-JS. We also discussed my experience with Docker and its internal implementation.

Round 3

The final round was with the VP of Engineering. This was more of a conversational interview, where I was given an overview of Zomato's culture and what to expect as an SDE-1. The VP also asked me about what I could bring to the table and how I would contribute to the team.

Conclusion

After successfully navigating these three rounds, I was thrilled to receive a job offer from Zomato. The interview process was undoubtedly challenging, but it also gave me a glimpse into the company's high standards and commitment to building a strong engineering team.